Breaking Camp

9-28-2017

So I completely understand that rafting season is over for me for this year. Not my idea obviously, but sometimes things are what they are and moping over it doesn’t change anything. I drove up to the Adirondacks to break down my camp. I need to pack everything up, load what I can fit into the car, takes down the tent and tarp, and say goodbye to the incredibly awesome 2017 summer season.

I am actually hoping nobody will be around because I am not ready to share my breast cancer news with anybody yet. I haven’t even told my parents. I am still coming to terms with the idea of surgery, radiation therapy, and hormone treatments. It will be easier for me if I can quietly break camp and wish farewell to the Adirondacks on my own. Maybe I can manage to get myself up here sometime this winter. Who knows?

The whole process went well. It took longer than I was hoping it would, but not longer than I actually though. I have done this many times before, although this spot up in the woods is a different place than the last few years. It is a bigger hill and longer walk to the car for loading and packing purposes. I had more stuff than would fit in the car so I had to employ my Space Goddess superpowers to squish more mass into a space than it can actually hold. Kind of like a black hole…

Anyway, it was a beautiful fall day, crisp, colorful, and cool. I worked hard and left as it started getting dark. I left some gear in the barn (out of the way) and hopefully I can get back up here to get it. If not, it will probably still be there in the spring. Ahhh, the life of a raft guide… It was a good productive day. The tent platform is covers and secure for its winter sleep. My gear is packed and headed home for winter storage. Life is good.

Leave a comment