Hobbit Adventure

7-2-2017

Today the River was too high to take the camp kids we had as customers down through the gorge. So we ran the “Lower Gorge”, which isn’t a gorge at all, it’s just a section further down stream that we run when the water is too high for the actual gorge. I had never seen this section, North Creek to Snake Rock,  in its entirety, just a few pieces of it. I love being in places I have never been to before, seeing new sights, and experiencing new things. I call these situations Hobbit Adventures, whether its a new road I’ve never driven, a new town I’ve never visited, a new trail I’ve never hiked, a new river or new section of river, new lake, or any new place to be in. Although, one may go somewhere new when one is lost, the difference is that you chose to be in a new place to begin with, even if you get lost while you are there.

So today was uncharted territory for me while guiding a boat load of camp kids down the River. The rapids are all fairly straight forward, read and run, fun crashing waves. I don’t know any of the rapid names so I was having some silly fun just making names up, and the kids didn’t figure it out until after lunch, at which point I was then familiar with the run having done that section several times before. The sun was shining and warm, the kids had a blast, and I had a Hobbit Adventure!

Leave a Reply

