Calcite Crystals

6-20-2017

Helping several ten to twelve year olds enter the water at Snake Rock without tipping their kayaks over, I notice the rock next the where I am squatting and holding a boat steady. There is a thick layer of large crystals, yellowish white in color and cleaving along flat planes, crumbling into the sand and plant growth next to the water. I realize this must be a calcite deposit. I know there is one across the river just down stream of here that I have not yet been to, but have been told about. I friend of mine showed my several quarter sized crystals she found there and they look just like the crystals by my feet. I exclaim in excitement and bring everyone’s attention to them, explaining what they are. Some kids thinks its very cool and collect some, others not so much… Each to their own interests! I love rocks. My yard has rocks in it form everywhere we go. I decorate the garden walls with rocks of all shapes, sizes, colors, dimensions, and characteristics. I know then names of some of them, but not others. Oddly enough, rock identification was not an aspect of geology class that interested much, although I find plate tectonic, earthquakes, and volcanism fascinating. I do not need to know a rocks name in order for it to speak to me, catch my eye, and sweet talk me into carrying it with me for the rest of the hike or paddle I am doing at the time. So now I have several nifty Adirondack calcite crystals hanging out in my herb garden.

Leave a Reply

