Birds Building Nests

5-7-2017

I am standing at a giant picture window many stories above the ground, looking out across the undulating landscape, under an overcast sky. A flitting movement catches my eye, dragging my gaze downward, but is gone before I can really see what it was. I stare, transfixed, until a small brown bird swoops back into view. I stand watching the place it materialized, and a few minutes later it (or its mate)returns carrying a twig in its beak. I watch for maybe half an hour as these birds make numerous trips carrying small sticks to ledge I can not see from this vantage point. But it is fascinating to witness their determination for building their nest to keep their future eggs and chicks safe and warm.

Leave a Reply

