Matzo Brei

4-27-2017

One of my favorite (usually) morning meals is something I never heard of until I was dating the man I eventually married. Matzo Brei is matzo crackers dipped in cold water, broken into bite size pieces and cooked into scrambled eggs. Its and after Passover meal to use up the leftover matzo. Traditionally, people put sweet stuff on it like jelly, but I like with hot sauce! As Passover approaches, matzo goes on sale, and eventually a case of it comes home. I start asking for Matzo Brei. Maybe it’s because I love scrambled eggs, or maybe it’s because I love my husband’s cooking, or because we have fun morning time together cooking and eating it, or maybe it has become a spring tradition for me. When Matzo Brei shows up it means winter is almost over and everything will be green and sunny and warm again soon. Whatever the case, serve it up, and eat it with joy!

Leave a Reply

