Drumming Woodpeckers

4-28-2017

I am laying half asleep in my tent, windows zipped up to hold in my body heat, morning light has crept in and threatens to bring me fully awake. Its too early, I want another hour of blissful unconsciousness. I am right on the edge about to slide sweetly back to dream world when a loud resounding tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut… echos through the forest. I groan, roll over onto my back, refuse to open my eyes. Tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut… I groan again. Its cold and damp, I do not want to get up yet, I burrow deeper under the blankets. Tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut… I know exactly where this little bugger is and what he’s doing. I spied him last weekend near the top of a dead tree (hollow at the top) down the hill, next to the office. A little red bellied woodpecker who has found the perfect tree for drumming.

I imagine him all puffed up with bravado, chest stuck out, feathers combed back, strutting around with cool bad boy sunglasses on calling out to the world “Hey single ladies, come and check me out! I’m the answer to all your dreams!” and “All you other males, stay out of my territory, cause I’m the biggest baddest woodpecker around and this is MY tree!”

Tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut… There will but no more sleep this morning. Might as well get up, get dressed in cold clothes that my body will have to warm up. Look! I have more than enough time to make coffee, and do some yoga before I head down the hill and go to work. I will be guiding a raft down the river today in the chilly grey rain! At least the water is high! Tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut-tut… echos through the trees. Smiling, I start unpacking the amp stove.

Leave a Reply

