Osprey Overhead

4-22-2017

Standing in front of my tent, I hear an odd bird call that I can’t identify. I gaze up through the leafless tree branches at the evening sky. Two large birds swoop overhead just above the tree tops, grey black against the bright sky. I can’t see their markings, but their size and shape tells me bird of prey. I watch as they turn and glide, calling to each other or to my invasion of their space. The setting sun light catches the white striping, illuminating their distinctive coloring. Osprey! I wonder if there is a nest nearby. The river is just down the hill so they could be nesting up here. Or maybe they are just passing through on their way to a lake to nest. Maybe they will just roost for the night and continue on their way in the morning. I watch them dance above me, wondrous and beautiful!

Leave a Reply

