Sauna

3-24-2017

Last employee free yoga session of the ski season. Stretching, bending, moving, balancing, shifting awareness, altering consciousness, becoming, being, relaxing. After the yoga session, I quietly slip into the sauna in the women’s changing room. Aaaaahhhhhh, sit alone on the top bench in the intense dry heat, inhale the cedar smell, close my eyes, let my body melt. I let my mind open and empty, aware of only the heat and my breathing. Pure relaxation.

After an indeterminable amount of time, I feel the slick sweat covering my body, running down my face. It’s time to depart. Open the door and gasp as cool air from the outside room washes over me, like being splashed with cold water. I start making vague plans of building my own sauna in the back yard as I make my way home.

Leave a Reply

